A Visit She Wont Much Like

Index here.

I don’t like being lied to. No-one does. Lying to the Department is another thing entirely. We object to it in the strongest terms. When the Department objects to things we don’t keep it to ourselves. Everybody gets a slice.

Mycroft hacked into a satellite feed to check the camp was still there while I called in a support team from Hereford. It wasn’t long before black Landrovers were converging on the Hobling camp.

By the time we arrived there they were surrounded. Every caravan had at least one stocky man in black body armour standing out side it and not brandishing his gun. There were two of them outside the Runt’s caravan and another inside waiting for us.

As I stepped inside he said, “We’re confident we have the area secured, Ma’am.”

I love the gents from Hereford. So very polite. “Thank you.” I said.

The Runt, sitting on her catbus window seat, hissed at me. Actually hissed like a cat. The ears of her Neko hairband were flat back against her scalp. She must have imported one of the Nekomimi mind controlled headbands from Japan.

“What to do you want now.” She said.

“I want the whole truth. And I want you to understand that when the Department asks you a question it expects a complete answer.” I said.

“What are you talking about?” She said.

“The last thing [REDACTED] did before she was murdered was to make a three and a half minute phone call to a charity worker who then immediately called the phone you currently have in your pocket. Why?” I said.

“She wasn’t going to stop. She called about pushing through a Children’s Panel Hearing to remove a child. Right after I spoke to her. She didn’t even think about it just on to the next one. If she hadn’t died that night we would have had to intervene.” Said the Runt.

“Intervene how?” I said.

“We’d have done what our ancestors did to our enemies and dragged her off to fairyland where she couldn’t do any more damage.” She said. She tilted her head to one side, made huge eyes at me and her ears tilted forward. She was going for the cute vote.

“Damage to what? And will you please take those bloody things off. They’re distracting me.”

“What things?” She said.

“The animated Neko cat ears. The one’s on your hairband.” I said.

“That’s not a hairband. Those are my actual ears.” She said.

“You’re a proper catgirl?” Said Chris from over my shoulder.

“Down boy.” I said.

“One of my Grandfathers was a Catshee. Back then most of us could still change form. It was part of the Geas and when we broke it we were all stuck with just one shape. That’s why some of us look so weird. Hob genetics is a mess.

“That is so hot.” Said Chris.

I elbowed him in the stomach. But not particularly hard. “Shut up I’m thinking.” I said.

The Runt smiled and sat back in her seat. Behind me the man in black was talking on his radio. “Stand by to move out.” He said.

“Calm down she hasn’t got it yet.” Said Chris. I turned to look at him and he was staring at me intently.

“What are you talking about?” I said.

“Whatever it is you’re about to work it out.” He said.

“Is it that obvious?” I said.

“Yes. Just ask the question, whatever it is, so we can get on with it.” He said.

“So you don’t know what it is?” I said.

“No. I just know you do.” He said.

I turned back to the Runt. “When you say your Grandfather was a Catshee you mean a Cait Sith. A Fairy cat. Yes?”

“Yes. What else would I mean?”

“Right everybody move out. I know where we’re going.”

Leave a Reply

